A lot of folks have been asking about how the re-release of Classic is going to be structured–are we getting the original launch with patches mirroring the original releases? Are we getting the last pre-2.0 patch? How will raid and dungeon content be handled? The answer, thankfully, makes a lot of sense.

What Patch?

The re-release of Classic will not be the same patch as the original launch. We’ll be re-launching on patch 1.12 — the last major content patch before the release of 2.0 that led up to The Burning Crusade.

It was in 1.12 that we saw the original release of Naxxramas.

The reason we’ll be starting off on this patch is, predictably, because the developers felt it was most representative of Classic at its best (before transitioning into TBC content.) I would have to agree!

But What About Content?

Will we be seeing all the original content that was available by 1.12 in the initial relaunch of Classic?


The developers have stated that they intend to gate content via phase releases intended to closely resemble the pace of content from Classic.

Phase One:

  • Molten Core
  • Onyxia’s Lair
  • Maraudon
  • World PvP (no Honor tracking, no rewards)

Phase Two:

  • Dire Maul
  • Azuregos
  • Doom Lord Kazzak
  • Honor System (featuring Dishonorable Kills and Ranks)

Phase Three:

  • Blackwing Lair
  • Darkmoon Faire (with Decks)
  • Alterac Valley
  • Warsong Gulch

Phase Four:

  • Zul’Gurub
  • Green Dragon world bosses
  • Arathi Basin

Phase Five:

  • Ahn’Qiraj War Effort (followed by opening of the Gates of Ahn’Qiraj)
  • Tier 0.5 Dungeon sets, Relics, and other loot changes

Phase Six:

  • Naxxramas
  • Scourge Invasion
  • World PvP in Silithus and Eastern Plaguelands

Share with:

FacebookTwitterGoogleRedditPinterestEmail this page

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x